clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Isaiah Whitehead selected to 2014 McDonald's All-American game

New, 5 comments
Isaiah Whitehead becomes Seton Hall's first McDonald's All-American since 2000.
Isaiah Whitehead becomes Seton Hall's first McDonald's All-American since 2000.
Kelly Kline / Under Armour

Seton Hall officially has their first McDonald's All-American in fourteen years.

2014 scoring guard Isaiah Whitehead (Abraham Lincoln, N.Y.) was selected on ESPNU as part of a field of 24 of the best high school players to play in the 2014 McDonald's All-American game on April 2nd at the United Center in Chicago. Whitehead is the first All-American Pirate since Andre Barrett and the late Eddie Griffin played in the honorary game in 2000. Prior to that duo, current associate head coach Shaheen Holloway was named MVP in the 1996 all-star game. In 1990, Luther Wright became the first McDonald's All-American to sign with Seton Hall. New York City's last McDonald's All-American was Bishop Loughlin's JayVaughn Pinkston in 2010.

Whitehead has teamed up with fellow 2014 commit Desi Rodriguez to propel Lincoln to 19th in USA Today's Super 25 national rankings. Recent point totals of 39, 12, 22, 20, and a dominating 35-point, 12-board, 6-assist performance against South Shore over the weekend proved to be pleasant reminders of Whitehead's All-American stature that had been recognized months ago by recruiting gurus and college head coaches.

At the moment, Isaiah Whitehead is the only McDonald's All-American committed to a Big East school.


Complete All-American rosters, with rankings from


Cliff Alexander (No. 3 247Sports & No. 3 247Sports Composite)

Tyus Jones (No. 5 247Sports & No. 5 247Sports Composite)

Myles Turner (No. 7 247Sports & No. 4 247Sports Composite)

Kevon Looney (No. 8 247Sports & No. 12 247Sports Composite)

Karl Towns Jr. (No. 10 247Sports & No. 7 247Sports Composite)

Justin Jackson (No. 12 247 Sports & No. 10 247Sports Composite)

Justise Winslow (No. 13 247Sports & No. 11 247Sports Composite)

Isaiah Whitehead (No. 20 247Sports & No. 15 247Sports Composite)

Theo Pinson (No. 22 247Sports & No. 19 247Sports Composite)

D'Angelo Russell (No. 30 247Sports & No. 17 247Sports Composite)

James Blackmon Jr. (No. 34 247Sports & No. 31 247Sports Composite)

Melo Trimble (No. 35 247Sports & No. 33 247Sports Composite)


Emmanuel Mudiay (No. 1 247Sports & No. 2 247Sports Composite)

Stanley Johnson (No. 2 247Sports & No. 6 247Sports Composite)

Kelly Oubre (No. 4 247Sports & No. 8 247Sports Composite)

Jahlil Okafor (No. 6 247Sports & No. 1 247Sports Composite)

Rashad Vaughn (No. 9 247Sports & No. 13 247Sports Composite)

Trey Lyles (No. 16 247Sports & No. 9 247Sports Composite)

Joel Berry (No. 18 247Sports & No. 18 247Sports Composite)

Devin Booker (No. 31 247Sports & no. 26 247Sports Composite)

Grayson Allen (No. 33 247Sports & No. 30 247Sports Composite)

Reid Travis (No. 46 247Sports & No. 35 247Sports Composite)

Tyler Ulis (No. 53 247Sports & No. 34 247Sports Composite)

Thomas Welsh (No. 103 247Sports & No. 67 247Sports Composite)